Beauty Throughout the Ages

Video by Kaspars Daleckis Photography featured on Facebook

Hey Everyone! Here is a video I found on Facebook!

It is a timelapse of beauty standards throughout history. I found it very interesting how the idea of beauty has changed. These standards seem to be mearly a fad or style which is seen to be ugly or ill fitting from one decade to the next. I think digital media has really influenced our idea of beauty and has helped to facilitate this never ending cycle of what is in and out of “style”.

beauty-contestants-1945-thigh-gap-photo-black-and-white-inset_xapccg

There’s a huge difference between these natural beauties..

.53a06511dd122_-_cos-02-90s-courtneycox-de

and the 90’s which were rough on everyone (sorry Monica).

Here is a link to my previous post!

3 thoughts on “Beauty Throughout the Ages

  1. I think this is a really interesting post! I love time lapse videos, and this one is even better because it takes you through popular looks from each decade. I think it’s really insightful to see how beauty trends change with time, and it’s interesting to try and look for things from decades ago that might be slowly coming back into style. I also noticed that the differences between styles were more noticeable in the earlier decades, and once we start getting into the 90’s and beyond, everything seems to streamline a little bit. Nonetheless, this is a really cool video!

    Like

  2. The video was upbeat and fast pace! It kept my attention the entire time. The music was speedy and helpful for the video. I enjoyed this clip a lot. Seeing the different hair and makeup styles was interesting to look at. I like how the model contributed by making hand gestures. For example, the model held up a peace sign when it was the 1960s. It was cool to see how drastically the styles change from year to year. All of they styles were pretty different a unique. The 1904s hair style looks like it took a lot of time and effort to make.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Why does Organizing Feel so Good? | Intro To Digital Media at UCONN

Leave a comment